Keeping a research journal

Since the very start of my academic journey (2013), I know I wanted to become a lecturer, and I was dreaming about the moment when I will become a PhD student.

It is then perhaps not a surprise, that I read a lot of blogs and articles about keeping a research journal or diary during a PhD. In fact, I attempted to do that during my MRes  and  kept  two notebooks; one  for formulating my ideas and the other, to jot down all the references and potentially useful articles. However, I feel that for the PhD I will need to be more consistent so that I am able to trace my steps and understand all the decisions I make along the way. That is why now I think I will need a document on my laptop instead of only notebooks (although I am sure I will use notebooks as well) and found some useful templates already. I feel very excited as journaling is a natural part of my life since I was a teenager and I have a feeling that apart from research notes, I will also write about all my feelings (e.g.:  feeling inadequate or about any small victories along the way). I cannot help it, after all I am coming from a Psychology and Counselling background, so reflecting on my progress and feelings about it, is a natural thing to do for me.

To that extent, I can tell you that at the minute I feel very excited about my PhD journey but I also feel scared and a bit apprehensive. I did complete an MRes after all and I think this prepared me well for what is about to come, but it also made me aware all the challenges which comes with completing a research degree. I have a feeling though, that this will be one of the best parts of my academic life as I can work on my own topic again but now for 3 years! I am aware that I will need to manage my time more efficiently than ever, because apart from working on my project, I will also continue to teach (5-7 hours a week) and work in a small research team 8-12 hours a week. This is only for the first semester though, as I am intending to decrease my teaching hours in the coming term. Still, this will be a challenging start but I believe that with a good time management plan and some late nights, I will do just fine! 🙂

 

 

About ivettracz

I am a PhD student at the University of Salford. My undergraduate thesis (Psychology) explored the experiences of bilingual and bicultural students in the UK, while my MRes (Social Policy) has focused on the effects of Brexit on Hungarian Workers in Manchester. My findings suggests that the attention needs to be directed on the psychological effects rather than the practical ones as these could be greater than its practical implications. My PhD will look at everyday bordering practices in the UK and will employ situated intersectional analysis. My main interest lies is Social and Political Psychology, Migration and Identity among European citizens in the UK.

Leave a comment